You are YOU!

youareyou

First post! EEK. Kind of a big one I guess. Well first off I’m not looking for no trouble, I just want to spread positivity and joy. This is my life and my blog and hey! who are you to tell me what I can and can’t feel? 🙂 So read on and take a sneak peek into the everyday life of me!

As I am recently unemployed, I have been desperately trying to fill my days with joy and activities. Menial tasks, such as cleaning or cooking have become small pleasures in my life. Walking, has become a reason for me to leave the house and writing has become a means to vent my frustrations.

I’m not naive, I’m very aware that my readership is limited and what interests me may not interest everyone else. But hey! That’s the point. I write to soothe my own soul and I post it to feel productive.

It’s easy to feel like the world is trying to suck the life out of you and it’s even easier to let it. I have looked into the barrel of darkness and it tempted me so much to allow it to consume me. I’m blessed that I have people who care about me. They are the reason I get up in the morning. What’s your reason?

It doesn’t have to be a big reason. It could be that you needed to turn the heating on, hey that’s great! At least you’re up, now stay up! What else can you do today? Need some milk? Walk to the corner store, or if you must drive, park as far away from the front door as you can and make the effort to walk to the door. It’s a small thing, but trust me it’s huge.

When the mind and body are left to themselves, anxiety can easily follow. But make an effort, not for anyone else, but for you. For a long time, I hated doing anything alone. Simply because I was anxious. Then one day, I started to do little things like paying for petrol as my boyfriend waited in the car. You know what I did then? I celebrated. I celebrated myself and my ability to do this one thing alone. Because as small as that may seem to some people, others will understand the crippling fear of completing an everyday task alone.

Soon after, I would go to the petrol station alone. Again I would celebrate. Celebrating myself made it easier to do these things. I was proud. Imagine facing your fears every single day and how proud you would feel. That’s what it was like for me.

Keep positive and stay focused. Take the smallest step you feel comfortable taking. For some, that might even be just getting out of the bed and taking a shower. Do it! Get out of that bed, take a shower and celebrate! You deserve it.

You are worthy. You are amazing. To quote Dr. Seuss:

“You are you, there’s no one in the world who is more youer than you!”

When you feel like you can’t achieve anything, remember there is no one else who can be you and no one else who can define your value.

 

Leave a Reply

